Senator Max Baucus Receives the Ansel Adams Award from The Wilderness Society

Feb 27, 2014

2014 Ansel Adams Award

(L-R) Jamie Williams, Sen. Max Baucus, Molly McCusic, Doug Walker

Today, the Wilderness Society presents its Ansel Adams Award to Montana Senator Max Baucus for his tireless work to protect America’s wild public lands.

The Ansel Adams Award is conferred on current or former federal officials who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to the cause of conservation and the fostering of an American land ethic.

“Today, we recognize Senator Baucus for his passionate commitment to protecting Montana’s and America’s wild places and outdoor heritage,” said Jamie Williams, president of The Wilderness Society.  “Senator Baucus set a new standard for what people can achieve by working together to sustain America’s unparalleled natural heritage.”

In presenting the award, The Wilderness Society cited many instances of the Senator’s dedication to protecting wild areas and important public lands.  His leadership resulted in the protection of Yellowstone National Park from the proposed Crown Butte Mine, and he also helped protect vast lands in the greater Yellowstone area through the Gallatin Land Exchange.  Senator Baucus has worked tirelessly advocating for the conservation of the North Fork Flathead watershed, the Blackfoot Valley, the Swan Valley, the Rocky Mountain Front and other important Montana landscapes. His leadership on the Montana Legacy Project resulted in the protection of many of western Montana’s valleys. Nationally, Senator Baucus has been the congressional champion for the Land and Water Conservation Fund and for enhanced tax incentives for private land conservation.

The Ansel Adams Award is given on behalf of the renowned photographer who until his death was an outspoken advocate for defending the nation’s natural heritage. Past winners of the Ansel Adams Award include former Colorado Senator and Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar, former Secretary of the Interior Bruce Babbitt, former New Mexico Congressman Mo Udall, Earth Day founder Gaylord Nelson, President Jimmy Carter, former Senate Majority Leader George Mitchell, and Senators Bill Roth, John Chafee, John Kerry and Joe Lieberman.

Peter Aengst, Senior Director, Northern Rockies