Fact sheet: National Landscape Conservation System overview

Monday, July 30, 2012

Our National Conservation Lands provide unparalleled opportunities for recreation, cultural and historical enrichment, hunting and fishing, wildlife watching, solitude, adventure and scientific research to all Americans. As a system of spectacular places, the Conservation Lands stand with our National Park System and National Wildlife Refuge System.
Established in 2000 and signed into law in 2009, the National Conservation Lands are the nation’s newest, permanently protected collection of public lands.

The Conservation Lands bring together over 27 million acres of Bureau of Land Management (BLM) lands, trails and rivers designated for protection by Congress or the President. Managed by the BLM, the 887 units of Conservation Lands represent the crown jewels of the BLM, a network of some of the last places to experience the beauty, history and adventure of the American West.

Conservation Lands at a glance

  • 27 Million Acres
  • 11% of all BLM Land, 4% of all federal public lands
  • 30% of all BLM Visitors
  • 17 National Monuments
  • 21 National Conservation Areas and Similar Designations
  • 67 Wild and Scenic Rivers
  • 16 National Historic and Scenic Trails
  • 766 Wilderness and Wilderness Study Areas


PDF icon FCT_NLCS_Overview_July2012.pdf1.15 MB